Synaesthesis (LTU) @ DNA / Estonian Music Days

The younger generation of Lithuanian musicians Synaesthesis will start with the piece “Solastalgia” (2020) by Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, followed by another Lithuanian composer Diana Čemeryte’s Bach influenced piece “Meine Seele wartet…, After Listening to Bach” (2020), Elis Hallik’s piece inspired by the Estonian poet Doris Kareva “Some Paths Will Always Lead Through the Shadows” (2021, premiere) followed by Latvian Evija Skuke’s piece of infinite time “Locust. Beauty of Destruction” (2015/2017) which reflects different proportion parameters that create an evenly unpredictable and heavy sound mass. The program also includes two composers from more distant countries who nonetheless tickle the Baltic imagination. Well known for his nuanced exploration Beat Furrer “Spur” (1998) and “Pop Art” (2002) regular jury of international competitions Regis Campo.

LIVE STREAM EVENT @ 2021-04-26 18:00/6pm CET | 19:00/7pm EET

Or watch here:

Baltic Sense

Elis Hallik (*1986) – Some Paths Will Always Lead Through the Shadows for two violins, viola, cello, piano, flute, clarinet (2021, premiere) 
Diana Čemerytė (*1974, Lithuania) – Meine Seele wartet… after Listening to Bach for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano (2020) 
Žibuoklė Martinaitytė (*1973, Lithuania) – Solastalgia for clarinet, piano, violin, viola, cello (2020) 
Evija Skuķe (*1992, Latvia) – Locust. Beauty of Destruction for string quartet (2015/2017) 
Beat Furrer (*1954, Austria) – Spur for string quartet and piano (1998) 
Régis Campo (*1968, France) – Pop Art for violin, viola, cello, piano, flute, clarinet (2002)

Synaesthesis (Lithuania)

Dainius Peseckas – violin
Diemantė Merkevičiūtė – violin
Monika Kiknadzė – viola
Arnas Kmieliauskas – cello
Vytenis Gurstis – flute
Artūras Kažimėkas – clarinet
Marta Finkelštein – piano, artistic director
Karolis Variakojis -conductor, musical director

Ensemble Synaesthesis consists of talented Lithuanian musicians of the younger generation with a mission to perform and introduce works by experimental and bold composers from Lithuania and other countries. This time, the ensemble presents the programme titled Baltic Sense. This is an ongoing project with changing musical content that represents the ensemble’s wish to connect to the Baltic region and explore the similarities and differences derived from our geography, history and cultural peculiarities. The title was first introduced in London in 2020 at a concert celebrating the 30 the anniversary of the restoration of Lithuanian independence, with pieces by Pēteris Vasks, Arvo Pärt, Bronius Kutavičius and Ramūnas Motiekaitis. For this edition of the project, Synaesthesis is presenting a programme that focuses on the younger generation of Baltic composers – Elis Hallik, Diana Čemeryte, Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, Evija Skuke. In addition, the programme includes two composers from more distant countries who nonetheless tickle our Baltic imagination – Beat Furrer and Regis Campo. With Baltic Sense, ensemble Synaesthesis is launching a cultural dialogue to find common ground for various musical performances, production and display projects.

Read more:

Estonian Music Days, a festival with 42 years of history, will bring together the first edition of Baltic Music Days 2021 which this year takes place online and is free for all! 

Every year the Estonian Music Days festival has a theme permeating its concerts. The focus of the 2021 festival is “DNA”, which seeks a dialogue between our biological genetics, cultural origins, musical thinking, and science.

Read more: