Loading Events

Reading Music [SE]

October 11 @ 17:00 - 20:00

Högskolan för Scen och Musik (HSM)

Reading Music [SE]

October 11 @ 17:00 - 20:00

Högskolan för Scen och Musik (HSM)

Contemporary music using the reading of a score and the understanding of music as the starting point. The trio of Lisa Ullén, Henrik Olsson and Johan Arrias invites us into a dense yet sparse soundworld of piano, percussion, saxophone, clarinet and electronics.

Exploring the new ways performers are asked to read and interpret music in contemporary music, this artistic project joins three composer/performers as a trio in collaboration with other composers who work with text and graphic scores. The research focus is on the three intertwined processes of music and can be summed up in the following question. Composition is one thing, performance another, hearing a third, what do the three has to do with one another?

It’s a two-fold collaboration that creates a dialogue between composer and the performance possibilities of the music with the musicians who are performing and creating a rendition, a reading of the work.

This concert is presented live at the Academy of Music and Drama in Gothenburg. The stream will also be available at the Göteborg Art Sounds YouTube channel.
The compositions are commissioned with funding support from Swedish Arts Council.

Hanna Hartman [SE/DE]
Nomi Epstein [USA]
Michael Pisaro [USA]

Portals (Epstein) – approx 20 min
Foreign Fridges (Hartman) – approx 18 min
Der erste Stern ist das letzte Haus (Pisaro) – approx 20 min

Lisa Ullén – piano, preparations
Henrik Olsson – percussion, electronics, objects
Johan Arrias – saxophone, clarinet

About the musicians

Lisa Ullén
Lisa is native of Seoul, Korea. She grew up in the northern part of Sweden, and is based in Stockholm. She is a graduate of the Royal Musical Academy in Stockholm, Sweden, where she studied classical piano in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Since the late 1990s, she has devoted herself entirely to improvised music, in the form of free jazz as well as avant-garde and contemporary classical and experimental music. A versatile player with a singular musical vision, Ullén has repeatedly proven her ability to imprint her absolute sense for tonal texture on whatever musical context she appears in.

Read more: http://www.lisaullen.se/

Henrik Olsson
Henrik was born in 1975 in the village of Kyrkhult, a small industrial community in the south of Sweden. He studied drums, classical percussion, improvisation and composition at The Academy of Music and Drama, University of Gothenburg and received his MFA in 2001. Henrik moves freely between notated music and free improvisation, blending acoustic and amplified sounds with the use of contact microphones.
Read more: http://bjornbergborg.blogspot.com/p/henrik-olsson.html

Johan Arrias 
Johan is a saxophone and clarinet player active in the field of improvised, experimental and contemporary music. He works with deconstructing and fragmenting the traditional ways of playing his instrument with extended techniques and preparation, regarding sound as an autonomous matter.
Read more: https://johanarrias.se/

About the composers



Högskolan för Scen och Musik (HSM)
Fågelsången 1
Göteorg, 412 55 Sweden
+ Google Map